It Pays to Publish with Bayou Magazine

My generation was maybe the last in which you could set up shop as a writer and hope to make a living at it. –John Updike


Hold up there, John Updike. Bayou is turning back the clock.

We are pleased to announce that Bayou Magazine will pay authors for all fiction and nonfiction manuscripts submitted and published after February 1, 2017. Please refer to genre Submission Guidelines for more details.


Interview with Aaron Gilbreath


“When I first read narrative nonfiction that moved me, during my undergrad years, I knew immediately I’d found my genre. Granted, I wrote fiction for a long time while learning to write prose, but I came back to nonfiction. Maybe the reason is that I both want to record things as a documentarian and folklorist, to preserve moments, and I want to make sense of things. I crave meaning.”

Read the whole interview with Aaron Gilbreath here

Literary New Orleans: February 2017


Stephanie Garber discusses her book, Caraval, at Octavia Books

Tuesday the 7th
Reading and signing with Pamela D. Arceneaux featuring her book Guidebooks to Sin: The Bluebooks of Storyville, New Orleans, Octavia Books, 6 PM

Wednesday the 8th

Garden District Book Shop Book Club will be discussing The Girl on the Train by Paula Hawkins, 6-7:15pm

See all February Events here